EN ISO 3834-2, 3, 4

Quality requirements for welding according to EN ISO 3834-2, 3, 4

The welding quality management system is governed by EN ISO 3834-2,3,4. For the competence of manufacturers in the field of welding of rolling stock and its components, DIN/ČSN EN 15085 is currently in force for certification levels CL 1 to CL4. It applies to welding on workshops as well as on assembly sites. In relation to the specific product code, it sets the quality requirements for welding work in three levels - higher - level 2, medium - level 3 and basic - level 4. If the company has a certified quality system according to the requirements of EN ISO 9001:2008, the certification level of the welding quality system according to EN ISO 3834-2 is also required. A quality system according to this standard is compatible with ISO 9001.

Certification of manufacturers and assemblers (workshop and external) to EN ISO 3834-2, 3, 4 - Quality requirements for fusion welding of metallic materials.

The standard has been issued in 6 parts:

  • Part 1: Criteria for the selection of appropriate quality requirements
  • Part 2: Higher quality requirements
  • Part 3: Standard quality requirements
  • Part 4: Basic quality requirements
  • Part 5: Documents to be followed for compliance with the quality requirements of EN ISO 3834-2,3,4
  • Part 6: Guidance on the implementation of EN ISO 3834

The special process of welding is very widely represented in many key and small engineering and construction companies, as an integral part of the main implementation process, intervening to varying degrees in the creation of the final product. It is also frequently used in the foundry industry in the form of repair welding, where after its professional application the product can be considered as identical.

Applications of welding methods can be found in connection with simple products, up to very complex units, under the dictates of various product standards and legislative regulations. Our company deals with conformity assessment mainly in the so-called regulated area, where the conformity of the product with precisely defined product codes and legislative definitions for the area is proven. These are mainly related to the following areas of industry:

  • pressure vessels,
  • pressure equipment,
  • boiler bodies,
  • nuclear equipment,
  • steel structures,
  • steel bridge structures,
  • aluminium structures,
  • rolling stock, etc.

The regulations relevant for the above mentioned areas define clearly the link of the manufacturer to a certified quality system in welding, according to the standards EN ISO 3834-2, 3, 4.

If the manufacturer is certified according to ISO 9001:2008, he must meet the higher quality requirements according to EN ISO 3834-2. These two standards are already compatible with each other, their interdependence is given by Table 6, Part 1 of EN ISO 3834-1. Defining the quality requirements for welding processes is very important because the quality of these processes cannot be easily verified. For this reason, welding belongs to the category of special processes as defined in ISO 9001:2008.

The achievement of quality of the final product or parts thereof cannot be assured by inspection, but must be progressively incorporated into the product at each step of its implementation and must subsequently become part of it. Quality cannot be created by inspection, but only demonstrated. No non-destructive testing can replace this activity.

The inspection activities must be set up from the very beginning of the product requirement, i.e. at the contract review and subsequently at the design review, through the selection of suitable basic and additional materials meeting the peripheral conditions of the specification, on to production, inspection activities, etc.

The certification of a company according to the EN ISO 3834-2,3,4 series of standards declares the assessment of the manufacturer's competence in relation to a specific product code. E.g. AD 2000 Mbl., DIN 18800, DIN / CSN 15085, DIN EN 1090-1,2,3 etc.

The certification framework is defined by the certificate issued by the "Certification Body for Product Certification - COV", which is accredited by the CIA under No. 3170 - see accreditation certificate. The certificate defines the following variables:

  • link to the product code,
  • approved welding methods according to EN ISO 4063,
  • material groups according to ISO CR 15608:2008,
  • the responsible welding supervisor and his representative.

Certification is usually granted for 3 years, but can be reduced to a shorter period (1 or 2 years) in justified cases. Every year a review (control audit) is mandatory for the company.

Welding supervision - its responsibilities and powers are covered by EN ISO 14731, formerly EN 719. Three qualification levels for welding supervision are distinguished:

  • EWE - European Welding Engineer
  • EWT - European Welding Technologist
  • EWS - European Welding Specialist

The level of welding supervisor qualification is usually linked to specific product code or legislative requirements.

Certification for manufacturers of rolling stock and its components according to EN ISO 3834-2 and ČD regulation - V95/5 and V26. The authorisation for this activity is specified in the certificate issued by the Certification Centre of ČD under No. 702.

Pro případné informace se na nás neváhejte obracet.

TÜV NORD Czech, s.r.o.
Českomoravská 2420/15
190 00 PRAHA 9

Tel.: 296 587 201-9
Fax: 296 587 240