NDE requirements by ASME Section VIII Div. 1 & ASME Section V

Course Objectives

This course help understand Code specific mandatory Non-destructive examinations required by ASME Section VIII Division-1, their acceptance criteria and personnel qualification . It is very important to have knowledge on application of various NDE methods to assure quality and code compliance.

Course Feature

Nondestructive Examination (NDE) is indispensable in the quality assurance during the construction of pressure retaining parts and vessels. This introductory course provides the basic understanding of Mandatory NDE requirements by ASME Section VIII Division 1, NDE requirement by Designer in considering joint efficiency, Personnel qualification, Acceptance criteria and Interpretation of NDE required by Section VIII Division 1.

Who should attend ?
  • QA / QC, Production Engineers and Manager
  • Representatives of Inspection agencies
  • Representative of Non Destructive Examination companies
  • All ASME Certified Shops and All Pressure Vessel Manufacturers, who use ASME as Design Code
Course Contents
  • Application and Scope of ASME Section VIII Div-1
  • Mandatory NDE required by ASME Section VIII Division-1
  • Part- UG
  • Part- UW
  • Part-UCS
  • Part-UNF
  • Part-UHA
  • NDE required by Designer in consideration of Joint Efficiency
  • Part-UW
  • Personnel Qualification requirement by ASME Section VIII Division-1 & V
  • Evaluation and Acceptance criteria
  • UW-51 – Radiography Testing
  • Mandatory Appendix-6 – Magnetic Particle Examination
  • Mandatory Appendix-8 – Liquid Penetrant Examination
  • Mandatory Appendix-12 – Ultrasonic Examination of welds 



Tutor having excellent experience of working in the industry shall conduct this training.


Softcopy Certificate of successful completion shall be issued to all the delegates who attend entire duration of the course.


3 Hours