ISO 45001: 2018 - Occupational Health & Safety Management System

The standard defines the Occupational health & Safety management system requirements to which organization subscribes. The organization develops the program to meet its policy, objectives and regulatory requirements and works towards continual improvement of the work environment and employee health & safety.


Since 2007, British Standard BS OHSAS 18001 has provided the basis for certification of internationally recognized occupational health and safety management systems. But soon it will no longer apply. The new ISO 45001:2018 standard was published on 12 March 2018 and applies internationally. It replaces BS OHSAS 18001:2007, which will be withdrawn by the British Standards Institute (BSI). Consistent use of ISO 45001 is intended to ensure continual improvement of international occupational health and safety management.

The essential aim – to optimize processes for companies in all industries so as to protect the life and health of employees as much as possible – will also apply with the new standard. Just like BS OHSAS 18001, it will be based on the “Plan – Do – Check – Act” model.

The most important new aspect is the introduction of a so-called High Level Structure with the objective of applying a harmonised structure to all management system standards. There are also some changes of emphasis and a number of amendments to content, including greater focus on the environment of the organization. One aspect here is that working conditions should in future be considered along the entire supply chain in addition to those of the organization’s own employees. This means that third party employees who are working within the area of responsibility of the organization also have to receive instruction on relevant health and safety measures. It is also expected that organizations should identify opportunities for improvement of occupational safety within a dedicated process. In addition, important functions and requirements within the framework of health and safety management are extended and transferred to the uppermost management levels. This means that there is a greater focus on the role of top management.


Benefits from the adoption of ISO 45001 / Changeover from OHSAS 18001

Now that ISO 45001 is published, companies with an occupational health and safety management system certified according to BS OHSAS 18001 will be obliged to change to the new standard. There will be a transitional period of three years, which will allow enough time to implement the changed requirements successfully by 11 March 2021. This will require a certain effort, but the certified companies will clearly benefit from the forward- looking orientation of the new standard – through further optimised processes in occupational health and safety, fewer disruptions of operational procedures, lower accident and illness rates, improved safety awareness and long-term competitive advantages.

Certification according to ISO 45001 offers you the following benefits:

  • System-based approach to occupational health and safety
  • Continual improvement
  • Identification of potential risks and hazards and their elimination
  • Greater employee awareness regarding safety aspects
  • Increased motivation and qualification for employees
  • Reduction in the number of accidents and interruptions in production due to better control over hazards at the workplace
  • Focus on employee safety results in a satisfied, motivated and highly productive work force
  • Legal compliance with minimal administrative effort
  • Improves company image and boosts international competitiveness
  • Demonstrates an innovative and forward thinking approach
  • Reduction in insurance costs

Certification process

The certification process is a multiple-step process. The certification cycle is described briefly:

  • Offer acceptance from client and order confirmation by TUV India
  • Pre audit (optional)
  • Certification audit - (Stage 1 + Stage 2)
  • Issue of certificate on successful completion of certification audit
  • Surveillance audits at defined interval
  • Recertification audit after 3 years

In case the organization is already certified to OHSAS 18001, migration to ISO 45001 is possible within the framework of a recertification or surveillance audit. The arrangements for transition from OHSAS 18001 to ISO 45001 have been laid down by the IAF (International Accreditation Forum) for all certification bodies, in internationally binding form. There is a 3-year transition period which ends on 11 March 2021, and after this all certificates based on OHSAS 18001:2007 will lose their validity. Up to the expiry date, organizations can change to the new standard. The cost and time needed for the transition to ISO 45001:2018, depend among other things on the maturity and the effectiveness of the current health and safety management system. The IAF estimates a changeover time to the new standard of at least one audit day.

TUV India's services

TUV India is one of the leading certification body for auditing of certification to Integration of management systems. It is important to understand which standards can be combined and integrated. The standards which can be easily integrated are QMS, EMS, OHSMS, FSMS, EnMS, and ISMS.

The underlying philosophy of this certification rest in the intent that irrespective of the nature of your business, your organisation must comply with the applicable environmental legislation. Our team of auditors critically examine your organization’s procedures and practices and assess your commitment to comply with these legislations.

We are looking forward to your enquiry