BRC Food & BRC Packaging

BRC Food Safety Standard

The BRC Food Safety Standard is one of leading global brand recognized by thousands of companies in worldwide, over 100 countries around the globe. The BRC Global Standard has been created to establish a standard for the supply of food products and to act as a key piece of evidence for retailers, and the brand owners to demonstrate 'due diligence' in the face of potential prosecution by the enforcement authorities.

The BRC Food Safety Standard can be used by any food processing operation where open food is handled, processed or packed.

The standard covers the following topics:

  • Senior Management Commitment and Continual Improvement
  • The Food Safety Plan – HACCP
    The basis for the Food Safety System is an effective HACCP (Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point) programme based on the requirements of the internationally recognized Codex Alimentarius system.
  • Food Safety and Quality Management System
    The requirements for the management of food safety and quality. Product specifications, supplier approval, traceability, and the management of incidents and product recalls.
  • Site Standards
  • Product Control
  • Process Control
  • Personnel

BRC / IOP Global Standard for Packaging and Packaging Materials

This standard is developed by a multi-stakeholder group; using experience and knowledge from retail, manufacturing, certification bodies and The Packaging Society (IOP) who form the Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) and working groups.

The standard applies to the manufacture of packaging and packaging materials used in food packaging and filling operations and to packaging and packing materials for cosmetics, toiletries and other consumer products and materials. The standard is one of the chain of product certification, ensuring that the production of packaging is as hygienic as the requirements of the packaging user, and that the safety and legality of the packaging has been considered and supported throughout the manufacturing processes.

The current issue (Issue 4) of the BRC/IOP Standard recognizes two categories of operation:

  • High Hygiene Risk: ‘Packaging that comes into direct contact with food products (or other designated hygiene-sensitive products. Primary packaging used for food or other hygiene-sensitive products where there is no absolute barrier in place’.
  • Low Hygiene Risk: ‘Packaging for consumer products and the secondary and tertiary packaging for all uses’.

The BRC/IOP Standard has six primary operational sections covering:

  1. Senior Management Commitment and Continual Improvement
  2. Hazard and Risk Management Systems
  3. Product Safety and Quality Management Systems
  4. Site Standards
  5. Product and Process Control
  6. Personnel